By majority vote of the board, the AGS Judging Handbook has been approved and adopted as the AGS Standard. 

Although not required, it is urged that all chapters to use it whenever possible. Our members deserve a consistent and fair judging approach, and these standards were designed by us and our members to do just that. So, please add to your show advertising that "The Competition Judging will be in accordance with the standards of the American Gourd Society."

  • AGS Judging Handbook web edition
  • AGS Judging Handbook in .pdf format 
  • AGS Judging Handbook in .doc format 
  • order a bound AGS Judging Handbook ($4.00)
  • Resources
  • 2016 Blank Application for Certified Judges Trainings (.pdf file -- opens in new window)
  • New Competition Scoring Sheets for Judging (.pdf file -- opens in new window)
  • link to gourd ID charts

  • ..
  • 2016 AGS Judging Requirements: All levels of certification.
  • Training New Judges
  • 2016 Setting Up a New Judge Training Session
  • 2013 AGS Judging Guidelines by Category
  • 2016 Students Classroom Packet
  • 2013 AGS Class List Spreadsheet
  • Certified Judge Activity - Continuing Education Report Form This form (PDF, ODT, or DOC) should be used as an attachment and sent to the AGS Coordinator Reggie Eakin at agsjudge30@gmail.com or mailed to Reggie Eakin 218 golf Club Drive, Metter, GA 30439
  • .pdf report form
  • .odt report form
  • .doc report form
  • Contact: Reggie Eakin, AGS Judging Coordinator agsjudge30@gmail.com 912 685 5134. All inquiries about ordering new and/or replacement Certified Judging nametags should be sent to Reggie.
  • AGS Certified Judges -- May 2013


    If you are a competition coordinator looking for judges, feel free to contact anyone from this list. If you wish, he/she can recommend others to suit your needs. Your judges can also advise you on how to proceed using the AGS Judging Guidelines. The Judging Handbook is downloadable for free here on the AGS website. A compact bound copy is available for purchase through the  AGS publications page.

    If you are a state chapter or other group needing a trainer to certify new judges, select from those names marked with an asterisk(**). Those are Judge Instructors as well as Certified Judges If you are hoping to find out about trainings in your area, please contact your state chapter.


    Find judges in AL  AR  AZ  CA  FL   GA  ID  IL   IN  KS  KY  LA  MI   MO  MS  NC  NH  NM   NV NY  OH  OR  PA  SC   TN  TX  WA  WI  WV   ONTARIO, CANADA

    Name Phone Email State
    ALABAMA
       Beasley, Neva 256-518-9574 neva@hiwaay.net AL
       Bedsole, Fred 251-342-4358 fdgizmo@aol.com AL
       Cox-Rodgers, Becky  205-665-7110 bcoxrodgers@hotmail.com AL
       Ellis, Anita K.  334-493-7166 aklellis@centurytel.net AL
    **Green, Ethel 334-279-8505 ethelsart@knology.net AL
       Montgomery, David 256-355-4634 fatback123@bellsouth.net  AL
       Montgomery, Pam 256-355-4634 fatback123@bellsouth.net  AL
       Smith, JoAnne M. 334-488-1861  bfhc@andycable.com AL
       Turner, Ruth  256-735-6489  gypsywomangourds@hughes.net  AL
       West, Elizabeth 256-747-1447  southerngourdgal@aol.com AL
    ARIZONA
       Aubel, Gail 480-899-5626 jaga1700@aol.com AZ
       Baylor, Kathy 520-423-9084 baylorkathy@yahoo.com AZ
       Bihary, Judy 623-826-4788 dnj.bihary@cox.net AZ
       Bishop, Gerri 602-840-7527 fairygourdmom@cox.net AZ
       Brewer, Irma 520-664-1000 irmanpaul@msn.com AZ
    **Brown, Lyn 520-625-4059 lynrbrown@cox.net AZ
       Cunningham, Jan 520-395-1918  roadrunnermsw@aol.com AZ
       East-Itkin, Lynne  520-889-9910 Imeastdesign@gmail.com AZ
       Elliott, Carol  480-488-4324 carolelliott@hughes.net AZ
       Fletcher, Shelly  602-237-4496  laveenfletcher@msn.com AZ
    **Gibson, Bonnie 520 444 8330 Bonnie@ArizonaGourds.com AZ
       Goslin, Ceil 602 228 5748 tocarefree2@hotmail.com AZ
       Haugen, Diane  480-984-0351 AZ
       Hinde, Lana  AZ
       Howard, Ivy 970-518-2833 ivysgourdart@gmail.com AZ
       Johnson, Judith AZ
       Kincade, Heather 602-550-9316 hk@kincadegourds.com AZ
       Muniz, Pricilla 623-326-3665 munizcasa505@netscape.com AZ
       Neagles, Prill 480-488-7136 pneagles@live.com AZ
       Pasche, Joyce 502-303-4488 jpasche@comcast.net AZ
       Shirey, Wanda 520-742-0973 wsjs1948@hughes.net AZ
       Sickles, Phyllis 520 744 8602 5maps@comcast.net AZ
       Smart, Dee 623 935 7646 jndidaz@cox.net AZ
       Starr, Joan AZ
       Steiner, Sonya 623-363-5498 flying150@cox.net AZ
       Turnbull, Beverly 928 445 9590 baturnb@cableone.net AZ
       West, Dianne 520 625 4488 dwest4gv@aol.com AZ
       Williams, Cheri  623-322-5660 cheriwilliams@hotmail.com AZ
       Williams, Debra  623-935-2454  mochashadow@cox.net AZ
       Williams, Selma  AZ
    ARKANSAS
       Scezniak, Elizabeth  501-753-7980 seznik@sbcglobal.net AR
       Scezniak, Gene  501-753-7980 seznik@sbcglobal.net AR
    CALIFORNIA
    **Adams, Leigh 626 797 3728 lladams@earthlink.net CA
       Amaya, Marty  951-763-0465 marthama1@msn.com CA
    **Calderwood, Diane 949 279 0487 calderwoodfamily@sbcglobal.net CA
       Clark, JoAnn  760-749-9410 b4gourds@yahoo.com CA
       Crane, Gloria 760-947-6029 gloriousgourdcreations@verizon.net CA
       Crayton, Marilyn J.  707-275-3469 doodahlandgourds@hotmail.com CA
       Day, Stacy  760-751-3324 stacy.day@hp.com CA
       Delp, Kellie  858-748-8588 keldelp@aol.com CA
       Duncan, William  714-892-8665 bilduc41@yahoo.com CA
       Echols, Vickie  951-926-3306 vickiesvessels@ymail.com CA
       Greene, Janet 530-674-3855 jlgreene55@comcast.net CA
       Heidlebaugh, Sandra 562 760 7313 vger13@aol.com CA
       Hopman, Heather  209-223-4895 CA
       Hunga-Moore, Sherry  760-781-3322 florashm@aol.com CA
    **Kelly, Linda 707 279 9503 lindaekelly@hotmail.com CA
       Linton, Elaine  858-722-5711 elainelinton@sbcglobal.net CA
       Linton, Mary Lou  760-765-0742 rezmom@aol.com CA
       Martinez, Vickie  760-788-0748 jakevickie@cox.net CA
       Mitchell, Pinky 707-275-3297 pinkysgourds@gmail.com CA
       Moore, Olive 909-982-7790 olive4e4@whoever.com CA
       Nelson,  Sylvia S.  916-682-2437 sylvianelson@citlink.net CA
       Propp, Darlene 909-862-9717 DragonGourd@DSLextreme.com CA
       Pyers, Linda L  707-262-5899 His_lamb@mchsi.com CA
       Reardon, Kathy  951-767-9130 x4621  krear@juno.com CA
       Roberts, Betsy 619 460 0732 gourdprincessb@yahoo.com CA
       Sizemore, Marty  530-751-2497 eyeseeu@localnet.com CA
       Skolfield, Pat 707-279-1036 CA
    **Stark, Rebecca 707 350 7713 artistqueen59@gmail.com CA
       Sullivan, Susan 714-293-4705 SusanSPHN@aol.com CA
       Thorp, Jack 562-429-3582  WildwoodGourdArt@gmail.com CA
       Walker, Jill 831 728 4427 gourdwalker@charter.net CA
    FLORIDA
       Carrow, Selma 386-328-6407 s_carrow@yahoo.com FL
    **Ferguson, Therese 321-259-4100 ThereseArt@aol.com FL
       Leake, Louise 386-748-2700 leakewr@yahoo.com FL
       Owen, Tonia 813-661-1125 FGSToniaOwen@aol.com FL
       Short, Laraine 904-810-3595 AGourdPainter@aol.com FL
       Worrell, Connie 813-886-2282 FL
    GEORGIA
      Collins, Terri 912-507-1224 parkterric@yahoo.com GA
       Durrence, Charlotte 912-657-9407 gourds1@aol.com GA
       Eakin,Reggie  912-685-5134 geecheegourds@gmail.com GA
      Glover,Cathy  912-294-7394 catsewG@bellsouth.net GA
      McGurn, Sandra 912-562-3118 basketkase47@aol.com GA
      Norford, Tina 912-756-8130 sandtnorford@yahoo.com GA
       Sandgren, Hudi  770-513-8823 hudi@hudistudios.com GA
      Stevens, Jim 404-373-5863 fredd249@bellsouth.net GA
      Tatum, Troy 770-229-5530 troytatum@bellsouth.net GA
    IDAHO
       Hinckley, Rob 208-466-2278 rhinckley54@msn.com ID
       Hinckley, Vonda 208-889-2240 vhinckley@msn.com ID
       Kirk, Donna 208-342-5352 ID
       Kostka, Sue 208-455-1362 sunnyslopegourds@safelink.net ID
       Langworthy, Duane 208-459-3211 ID
       Loya-Purcell, Gwen N. 208-392-4977 mtngwen@aol.com ID
       McCracken, Kris 208-939-8478 krismcc@cableone.net ID
       Meyer, Elizabeth 208-461-2021 ID
       Murphey, Veletta 208-922-5929 idahogourdlady@hotmail.com ID
       Nelson, Norma 208-707-0163 ID
       Stewart, Pat 208-888-3429 p_k_stewart@hotmail.com ID
       Thompson, Shirley 208-392-4590   ID
    ILLINOIS
    **Adams, Bonnie 309-523-3448 cabinmade17@yahoo.com IL
       Arnold, Sally 630-262-1741 sassyii@sbcglobal.net IL
       Baldwin, Lynne 828-384-0284 lbaldwinartist@gmail.com IL
       Bloore, Thomas 630-262-1741 tbloore@sbcglobal.net IL
    **Cox, Bonnie 309-682-6680 ilmidwife@comcast.net IL
       Cutter, Sue 217 688 3038 suspinz@gmail.com IL
       Eichwald, Linda 309-353-6705 Littletree11@comcast.net IL
       Farrell, Paula 630-963-1054 chkieg68@yahoo.com IL
       Irish, Ralph 309-652-3412 rirish@mtcnow.net IL
       Lawrence, Carol 309-936-1179 cjvan@hotmail.com IL
       Martin, Melanie 309-453-5578 melaniehg@yahoo.com IL
    **Quinn, Lynn 847-634-8279 Lynn_Quinn@att.net IL
       Reese, Maria 708-345-4748  sweet_nasuc@yahoo.com IL
       Thompson, Joan 847-485-7338 joanitee@yahoo.com IL
    INDIANA
       Bascom, Frances  765-945-8132 IN
       Kennedy, Ida  219-767-2901 ikennedy5@msn.com IN
       Lunsford, Dallas  765-453-0247 dflunsford@comcast.net IN
       Moore, Pat  765-597-2049 pmoore@hughes.net IN
    **Moorhead, Phil 765-674-8088 moorheap@yahoo.com IN
    **Moorhead, Ruth 765-674-8088 RuthTGCI@yahoo.com IN
       Niemeyer, Karen K.  765-436-7518 niemeyer@frontiernet.net IN
       Pressel, Loretta  574-586-2502 pressel@kvremcwb.com IN
       Pressel, Ronald E.  574-586-2502 pressel@kvremcwb.com IN
       Rushton, Carolyn  765-679-5107 crrush57@yahoo.com IN
       Thomas, Helen  765-498-5428 sandlady@sandlady.com IN
       Wallace, Emily J.  765-623-0621 emmewal@aol.com IN
    KANSAS
    **McHenry, Merril 620 241 1910 mbmchenry@sbcglobal.net KS
    KENTUCKY
    **Banta-Briseno, Jan 502 762 1795 jangourds@bellsouth.net KY
    **Barnett, Janet 502 477 8543 kentuckygourd@wildblue.net KY
    **Bishop, Carol 502-254-5201 gourdladyky@gmail.com KY
       Boughman, Nona 502 376 5621 kygourdnut@gmail.com KY
       Briseno, Pablo 502 762 1795 pbrisen@bellsouth.net KY
       Drexler, Dot  502-222-7683 KY
       Drexler, Jim  502-222-7683 KY
       Inman, Nancy  502-477-2954 ninman0717@mac.com KY
       Ising, Patrice 502-425-8608 patriceted@juno.com KY
       Morris, Beverly  502-231-9242 DMorris2947@bellsouth.net KY
       Platt, Lois 502-422-1302 dykeandlois@gmail.com KY
       Prather, Carol 502-750-1128 capowen1@aol.com KY
    **Thomas, CeCe 270-298-3093 clancycece@aol.com KY
       Waits, Jane 502-819-4517 bettywaits1952@gmail.com  KY
    LOUISIANA
       Bangle, Kate  337-824-8952 kbangle@aol.com LA
       Hornsby, Tom  318-445-3969 tom@bayougourds.com LA
       Hornsby, Zelda  318-445-3969 zelda@bayougourds.com LA
    MICHIGAN
    **Bityk,Gary 248-828-7391  MI
    **Heller, Rita 269-370-5165  magickiwi1@yahoo.com MI
    **Irla-Marlow, Gloria 248-544-8843  gim@imsart.com MI
    **Pawlik, Chris 586-725-8846  Chris@NorthshoreMi.com MI
    MISSISSIPPI
    **Byra, Susan 601-776-2058  STByra@gmail.com MS
    MISSOURI
    **Iverson, Cassandra 573 687 3150 gourdwizard@yahoo.com MO
      Decker, Bill 816-520-2521 BWilliamDonna@hughes.net MO
      Decker, Donna 816-520-2521 BWilliamDonna@hughes.net MO
    **Feissle, Jackie 314-846-0037 jackie.feissle@gmail.com MO
    NEVADA
    Dial, Kristy  619-995-2475  kristy.dial@yahoo.com NV
    NEW HAMPSHIRE
      Reed, Leah 603-679-5471  leah@bluewhalearts.com NH
    NEW MEXICO
      Jones, Jean  505-286-4683 djones175@q.com NM
      Lewis, Barbara  505-275-1682 NM
      Riordan, Kitty 505-890-1828  kittyriordan@hotmail.com NM
    **Stone, Dar 505 250 9660 darstone@comcast.net NM
    NEW YORK
      Noxel, Terry  607-655-5366  noxelts@aol.com NY
    NORTH CAROLINA
      Sloan, Betsey 803-478-3845 basketsVT@aol.com NC
    OHIO
      Barber, Bruce 740-965-4661 OhioGourd@earthlink.net OH
       Hogue, David 330-468-2882 OH
       Hogue, Georgette 330-468-2882 OH
       Jackson, Joy 937-695-0750 JoyJackson@gourdgathering.net OH
      King, Harry 330-759-5106 hking1470@sbcglobal.net OH
      Lanning, Bill 419-423-1010 bilan2@roadrunner.com OH
      Lanning, Anita 419-423-1010 OH
    **Martin, John 937-446-2174 martin.jf.kl@frontier.com OH
    **Martin, Karen 937-446-2174 martin.jf.kl@frontier.com OH
      Moss, Tim 937-547-0025 CMoss8@woh.rr.com OH
       Sherman, Larry 513-523-2458 shermalw@muohio.edu OH
      Sipple, Marilyn 937-548-5003 TVMOSipple@sisna.com OH
      Sipple, Terry 937-548-5003 TVMOSipple@sisna.com OH
      Smith, Lois 937-447-2845 scoutfarmer@embarqmail.com OH
      Toth, Rodney 330-759-1993 RKdahlias@aol.com OH
       Velzka, Renee 330-844-0287 thejoyofgourds@att.net OH
       Weller, Jane 419-796-0670 jweller@tds.net OH
    OREGON
    Grant, Sherry 541-473-2270 grant@fmtc.com OR
    PENNSYLVANIA
    Gay, Gloria  610-913-0966 GIG@dejazzd.com PA
    SOUTH CAROLINA
      Ash, Peggy 864-384-4735 pkash@bellsouth.net SC
    TENNESSEE
       Barnett, Susan 931-648-3739  susancrafty2@yahoo.com TN
       Cline, Terry  423-837-6664  TN
       Dye, Josephine  615-790-8436  jodye033@bellsouth.net TN
       Dye, Ray  615-790-8436  jodye033@bellsouth.net TN
       Osburn, Maxine  931-403-3380  pigroast@twlakes.net TN
       Osburn, Norman  931-403-3380  pigroast@twlakes.net TN
       Redhorse, Kay 931-685-9902  TN
    **Roberson, Lisa 423-304-5637  LisaRoberson1@netzero.com TN
    TEXAS
       Aguilar, Maria Isabel  210-410-3535 mariaisabelaguilar@ymail.com TX
    **Birky, Julie 505-879-1801 birkbach@hotmail.com  TX
       Flewharty, Gerry  214-341-2614 2flews@flash.net TX
       Gaines, Sylvia 903-891-8405 slgaines@isp.com TX
       Hines, Darla 281-356-1340 TedLH@charter.net TX
       Pritchard, Joe 817-909-2814 stormy7606@hotmail.com TX
       Pritchard, Robbie 817-905-3178 robbiesgarden@hotmail.com TX
    **Richie, Judy 830 257 8939 judyrichie@yahoo.com TX
    WASHINGTON
      Annon, Stacy 253-212-1611 emeraldpools@hotmail.com WA
      Carr, Garry  360-433-2412 carr0204@comcast.net WA
      Cooper, Dotty  425-746-8363 jndcooper@aol.com WA
      Frederick, Diane  360-668-7404 finefiregraphics@earthlink.net WA
      Ozburn, James A. "Oz" 360-405-6325 ozmail@comcast.net WA
      Palmer, Sandra    sjpug@yahoo.com WA
      Riviera, Alana  360-659-3959 bob.alana@comcast.net WA
      Riviera, Bob 360-659-3959 bob.alana@comcast.net WA
      Scribner, Evie  425-330-3459 gourds4menu@comcast.net WA
      Stout, Shawna  360-658-8003 shawna.stout@comcast.net WA
      Todd, Dynva  206-283-2471 dynvaart@aol.com WA
    WEST VIRGINIA
      Barnosky, Diana L. 304-629-9961  WV
    WISCONSIN
       Frosch-Hellenbrand, Cathy  608-592-5259 katelf@charter.net WI
       Geiger, Donna 920-276-2244 dgeiger98@yahoo.com WI
       Kvalheim, Gary 608-873-6572 kvalheims@gmail.com WI
       Owsley, Mary K. 414-807-3864 WI
       Palzkill, Ramona 608-574-6691 krkmpalz@mhtc.net WI
    **Ready, Deb 608 873 1703 pready@tds.net WI
       Rothwell, Barb 608-835-7072 cvwrr@charter.net WI
    **Schmit, Terri 608 437 1944 thegourdgirl@yahoo.com WI
      Stietz, Jeanne  608-922-6448 weofarms@centurytel.net WI
    ONTARIO, CANADA
       Bellchambers, Barbara 705-652-5115 bellcham@nexicom.net


    2015 American Gourd Society, Inc. All rights reserved. The American Gourd Society is a qualified 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization.